A Tree Falls into the Snake Pit…and OUT-TAKES from Kibera Shoots

While visiting the Nairobi National Museum and Snake House yesterday, a tree fell over, a large branch falling right into the open snake pit!  At first, when I heard the loud CRACK and CRASH, I ducked and hid behind a wall…you never know, right?  Then I shot a video and a panorama…

snake pit panorama

Thanks to my guesthouse peep, Maneesh, for suggesting the title of this post…

In closing my Africa chapter, I thought I’d post some out-takes, some images from ‘behind the scenes’…

Many thanks to Power of Hope Kibera (follow on Facebook) for this opportunity to travel to Kenya and document their wonderful project. There are many positive aspects to their work, but what really speaks to me is how it empowers the women and mothers of Kibera.  They are teaching their children and others about the importance of hygiene and then they are selling the home-made liquid soap: a win-win situation.

Leave a Reply

