Eyes are the Windows…

As I mentioned in the previous post, I am working as a documentary photographer for an NGO Power of Hope Kibera.  Kibera is the slum city right outside of Nairobi, the capital city of Kenya, in east Africa.

I took this opportunity for a number of reasons, the primary one being that I had recently lost my mother and felt that I needed a different perspective in my life.  My mother was, according to all who knew her,  generous and kind.  She had a special place in her heart for children, having been orphaned at a very young age herself.  So in a sense, I could say that I am doing this in honor of my mother.

Each day that I spend in the slum I am getting to know people better and better…and vice-versa!  It’s so cool to have them call me by name, hug me and kiss my cheeks.  The youngest children are less fearful of the white woman with the camera.  We will bring them prints a little later on, to show our appreciation.

I should say that we are also getting a lot of work done…building a storefront from which the women will sell liquid soap…video-taping simple water purification techniques, and the all-important hand-washing techniques.  More on that later.

6 responses to “Eyes are the Windows…

Leave a Reply

